when you delete a class then all the assignments and spaces in it will be gone and they can’t be restored. On the other hand when you archive a class then this class will be moved into the “Archive” folder. From there you can restore it again or delete it forever.
But this doesn’t remove students from the license. If you want to free up student seats then you can remove students from the license in the “Account management” individually.